Oceania Football Confederation Facts

OFC (Oceania Football Confederation) is the administrative body for association football in Oceania. It’s the youngest confederation in the world. There are 14 members which are all islands. The OFC regulates and oversees the football rules being respected in Oceania. Both national competitions and club competitions are organised and regulated for both men and women teams.

The OFC doesn’t have lots of influence due to the size of the countries and the fact that football is not considered as a popular sport. Before 2006, it was Australia which was the most largest and successful federation. However since they joined the AFC in 2006, it is now New Zealand that is the largest member.

  • Formed: November 15 1966
  • Location: Auckland, New Zealand
  • Full members: 14
  • Biggest nation tournament: OFC Nations Cup
  • Biggest club tournament: OFC Champions League
  • Website: www.oceaniafootball.com

Oceania Football Confederation Members

The 14 national association members are:

  1. American Samoa
  2. Cook Islands
  3. Fiji
  4. Kiribati
  5. New Caledonia
  6. New Zealand
  7. Niue
  1. Papua New Guinea
  2. Samoa
  3. Solomon Islands
  4. Tahiti
  5. Tonga
  6. Tuvalu
  7. Vanuatu

Kiribati, Niue and Tuvalu are not FIFA members, so they are not allowed to play in a World Cup or other FIFA tournaments.

Oceania Football Confederation in Tournaments

Of the current 14 members, 9 have participated in at least one OFC Nations Cup:

CountryOFC Nations CupTotal
New Zealand1973-2012 (all Nations Cups)9
Vanuatu1973, 1980, 1998-20128
Tahiti1973-2004, 20128
Fiji1973, 1980, 1998, 2002-20127
Solomon Islands1980, 1996, 2000-2004, 20126
New Caledonia1973, 1980, 2002, 2008, 20125
Papua New Guinea1980, 2002, 20123
Cook Islands1998, 20002

  • Australia became an AFC member in 2006, since then Australia enters the qualification rounds for the AFC Asian Cup

Of the current 14 members, only 1 has participated in at least one World Cup:

CountryFIFA World CupTotal
Australia1974, 2006, 2010, 2014 (from 2010 as AFC member)4
New Zealand1982, 20102

  • Australia participated in the first 2 World Cups as an OFC member

Of the current 14 members, 2 have participated in at least one Confederations Cup:

CountryFIFA Confederations CupTotal
Australia1997, 2001, 20053
New Zealand1999, 2003, 20093

  • Australia participated in 3 Confederations Cups as an OFC member

Of the current 14 members, clubs of members have participated in at least one Club World Cup:

CountryClubFIFA Club World CupTotal
New ZealandAuckland City2006, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 20146
New ZealandWaitakere United2007, 20082
AustraliaSouth Melbourne20001
AustraliaSydney FC20051
AustraliaAdelaide United (as AFC member)20081
Papua New GuineaHekari United20101
  • Australia participated in the first 2 Club World Cups as an OFC member

Share With Football Fans