CONCACAF Gold Cup 2015 Facts

The CONCACAF Gold Cup is hosted every 2 years like the Africa Cup of Nations. All the other major continental football tournaments discussed on this website are hosted every 4 years. The 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup kick-off is on July 7 and the Final is played on July 26. Did you know the following about the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup:

The 2015 Gold Cup Will Include a “Consolation Match” for the First Time Since 2003

The consolation match, or as most football fans call it the match for the third place is not a common match as one might think. Not all tournaments include this match which is pretty obvious since not a single player and coach really enjoys this match. A team only plays this match after losing a Semi-Final. Not only the players, but even fans don’t really care that much about this match. But at the end we all watch it anyway! The last CONCACAF Gold Cup that included a match for the third place was back in 2003 when the tournament was hosted in the USA and Mexico. USA defeated Costa Rica with 3-2. The only CONCACAF Gold Cup before 2003 which didn’t include a match for the third place was back in 2000. The 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup match for the third place will be played on July 25 in PPL Park in Chester, Pennsylvania.

Third Time That 2 Countries Will Host the CONCACAF Gold Cup

USA has always hosted the CONCACAF Gold Cup, but only 2 times they were not alone. Mexico co-hosted the tournament in 1993 and 2000. This time, USA will host the CONCACAF Gold Cup again, but together with Canada and not Mexico! Although Canada will co-host the tournament, they will only host 2 matches in Toronto. All the other matches will be played in USA.

Canada Will Host Gold Cup Matches For the Very First Time

 For the very first time it is Canada that will host CONCACAF Gold Cup matches. Unlike Mexico which hosted many matches together with USA in 1993 and 2002, Canada will only host 2. Only 1 city and stadium wil be used for 2 group B matches: Jamaica against El Salvador and Canada against Costa Rica. Both matches will be played in Toronto in the BMO Field stadium.

Record Amount Host Cities and Stadiums Will be Used

Never in CONCACAF Gold Cup history were there so many stadiums and cities chosen to host the matches. A total of 14 cities and 14 stadiums will be used for the tournament. Since the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup 13 host cities and stadium were used, but this finally changes to 14 for the 2015 edition. The following host cities and stadiums will be used:

  1. East Rutherford, New Jersey – MetLife Stadium
  2. Charlotte, North Carolina – Bank of America Stadium
  3. Atlanta, Georgia – Georgia Dome
  4. Baltimore, Maryland – M&T Bank Stadium
  5. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania – Lincoln Financial Field
  6. Chicago, Illinois – Soldier Field
  7. Carson, California – StubHub Center
  8. Kansas City, Kansas – Sporting Park
  9. Chester, Pennsylvania – PPL Park
  10. Frisco, Texas – Toyota Stadium
  11. Toronto – BMO Field
  12. Houston, Texas – BBVA Compass Stadium
  13. Glendale, Arizona – University of Phoenix Stadium
  14. Foxborough, Massachusetts – Gillette Stadium

Champions Will Not Automatically Qualify for the 2017 Confederations Cup

The champions of the CONCACAF Gold Cup will participate in a Confederations Cup. Only the champions of this edition of the tournament will not qualify for the 2017 Confederations Cup. Like the champions of the Africa Cup of Nations, the champions of the CONCACAF Gold Cup hosted in 2017 will qualify for the 2017 Confederations Cup. If the CONCACAF Gold Cup was hosted every 4 years than it would be a different story of course.

Every Team Played the CONCACAF Gold Cup Before

Many times there is at least 1 team that never played a continental tournament before, but not with the next CONCACAF Gold Cup. All 12 teams played the tournament before, and not just once. No, all teams played a Gold Cup at least 5 times. USA and Mexico participated in all of the Gold Cups. Participant Haiti played the least amount of CONCACAF Gold Cup: 5 times excluding the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup Logo Doesn’t Differ From Previous Logos

With every CONCACAF Gold Cup that contains a logo, only the first edition in 1991 doesn’t contain the trophy. Since then a logo always contains the trophy. Since the introduction of the horizontal 2005 Gold Cup logo, the style never really changed. It’s a nice logo, but not unique for that matter.

2005 gold cup

Share With Football Fans