CONCACAF 2018 World Cup Qualifications

After the AFC it was the CONCACAF (Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football) that started the 2018 World Cup qualifications. They also started the qualifications in March 2015. All CONCACAF FIFA members (35) entered the 2018 World Cup qualifications. 6 teams which are Bonaire, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint-Martin and Sint Maarten were not allowed to enter, since they are CONCACAF members only and not FIFA members.

3 teams will qualify directly for the 2018 World Cup. A fourth CONCACAF team can participate as well, but then they would have to win an intercontinental play-off against another team from a different confederation. The qualifications for North, Central America and Caribean consists of 5 rounds.

World Cup 2018 America Qualifications Round 1

The first round was played from March 22 till March 31 2015. A total of 14 teams (teams ranked 22 –35 in the CONCACAF entrant list) played home-and-away matches over 2 legs. The 7 winners advanced to the second round. The following matches were played:

 Team 1Agg.Team 2 1st leg2nd leg
British Virgin IslandsBritish Virgin Islands2-3DominicaDominica2-30-0
BarbadosBarbados4-1U.S. Virgin IslandsUS Virgin Islands0-14-0
Saint Kitts and NevisSaint Kitts and Nevis12-4Turks and Caicos IslandsTurks and Caicos Islands6-26-2
BelizeBelize1-1Cayman IslandsCayman Islands0-01-1

The following teams advanced to the second round:

  • Bermuda
  • Dominica
  • Barbados
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Nicaragua
  • Belize
  • Curaçao

The second round will consist of 20 teams in total: the 7 first round winners plus teams ranked 9–21. The teams will not be divided in groups, but each will have to play an opponent twice, on a home and away basis. The 10 winners will advance to the third round of the 2018 World Cup qualifications, where the 2 teams ranked 7-8 join the 10 second round winners.

World Cup 2018 America Qualifications Round 2

The second round will kick off on the 8th of June 2015.

 Team 1Agg.Team 2 1st leg2nd leg
Saint Vincent and the GrenadinesSaint Vincent and the GrenadinesGuyanaGuyana
Antigua and BarbudaAntigua and BarbudaSaint LuciaSaint Lucia
Puerto RicoPuerto RicoGrenadaGrenada
Dominican RepublicDominican RepublicBelizeBelize
Saint Kitts and NevisSaint Kitts and NevisEl SalvadorEl Salvador

Stay tuned for more updates!

Share With Football Fans