Confederations Cup

The Confederations Cup is a relatively new FIFA tournament. The tournament can be explained as a small FIFA World Cup. The best team of each confederation participates including the host and the current World Cup champion.  The FIFA Confederations Cup can be considered as a dress-rehearsal for the World Cup it precedes. Around half of the World Cup stadiums will be used, and gives the host nation, which qualifies for the Confederations Cup automatically, experience at a high level of competition during 2 years of playing friendlies only. The 10th Confederations Cup will kick-off on June 17 2017 and the final will be played on July 2 2017.

The tournament was first named the King Fahd Cup and was organised and hosted in Saudi Arabia. King Fahd refers to the then king of Saudi Arabia Fahd bin Abdulaziz Al Saud. After the first 2 tournaments in 1992 and 1995, FIFA took over the tournament and named it the Confederations Cup. In the first Confederations Cup when it was still called the King Fahd Cup, there were 4 participants: Saudi Arabia, United States, Argentina and Ivory Coast. Argentina won the 1992 tournament by defeating Saudi Arabia with 3-1. This was the only Confederations Cup which excludes South American and European countries.

Argentina won the very first FIFA Confederations Cup (as King Fahd Cup) in 1992

Between 1992 and 2005 the FIFA Confederations Cup was hosted every 2 years. This changed after the 2005 tournament when FIFA decided to host this ‘small version of the World Cup’ in the year before the preceding World Cup. So after 2005 it took 4 years before another Confederations Cup saw the light of day.

Since its very existence, the champions of the biggest continental tournaments qualify for the Confederations Cup. The biggest tournaments are:

  • South America:  Copa América
  • North/Central America: CONCACAF Gold Cup
  • Europe: UEFA European Championship
  • Asia: AFC Asian Cup
  • Africa: Africa Cup of Nations
  • Oceania: OFC Nations Cup

The World Cup champion and host nation qualify automatically. If the World Cup champion is champion of one of the continental tournaments above, the runners-up of that continental tournament qualifies for the Confederations Cup as well.

The current champion of the FIFA Confederations Cup is Brazil. The team defeated Spain with 3-0 in the 2013 Final. Brazil is also the most successful FIFA Confederations Cup team, they won the tournament 4 times: in 1997, 2005, 2009 and 2013. The current all-time top scorers of the tournament are former Mexican player Cuauhtémoc Blanco and former Brazilian player Ronaldinho with 9 goals each.

Brazil are the current FIFA Confederations Cup champions and have won a record of 4 times

The amount of participants has only changed twice in the history of the Confederations Cup. In the first tournament in 1992 there were 4 participants, but this changed to 6 in the second tournament in 1995. A European and a South American country participated for the first time. 2 years later in 1997 the amount changed to 8 participants, an Oceanian country made its first presence and the World Cup champion participated as well for the first time.

8 teams will play the 2017 Confederations Cup in Russia. The host country of the Confederations Cup is the same country that will host the World Cup the year after. So the 2021 FIFA Confederations Cup will be hosted in Qatar since the 2022 World Cup will be hosted in that same country. 4 2018 FIFA World Cup stadiums will be used for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup, which will be played in Moscow, Saint Petersburg, Sochi and Kazan. Saint Petersburg will host the opening match and the Final. Moscow the match for the third place, Kazan the first semi-final and Sochi the second semi-final.

The FIFA Confederations Cup trophy

For the 2017 edition Russia and Germany qualify automatically. Germany qualified automatically since they won the 2014 FIFA World Cup and Russia qualified as hosts. When it comes to the qualification stage, the Confederations Cup resembles a lot with the FIFA Club World Cup tournament. 1 champion of the biggest tournament per continent qualifies. The champions of the following tournaments will qualify:

  • 2015 AFC Asian Cup (Australia)
  • 2015 Copa América
  • UEFA Euro 2016
  • 2016 OFC Nations Cup
  • 2017 Africa Cup of Nations

For the first time the champion of the CONCACAF Gold Cup has to play against the USA first! The winner will join the other teams in the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup. If the USA wins the CONCACAF Gold Cup, then they qualify directly for the tournament.

FIFA Confederations Cup African Teams

CountryFIFA Confederations CupTotal
Nigeria1995, 20132
South Africa1997, 20092
Egypt1999, 20092
Cameroon2001, 20032
Ivory Coast19921

FIFA Confederations Cup Oceanian Teams

CountryFIFA Confederations CupTotal
Australia1997, 2001, 20053
New Zealand1999, 2003, 20093

  • Australia participated in 3 Confederations Cups as an OFC member

FIFA Confederations Cup Asian Teams

CountryFIFA Confederations CupTotal
Japan1995, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2013 5
Saudi Arabia1992, 1995, 1997, 19994
Australia1997, 2001, 2005 as OFC member3
United Arab Emirates19971
South Korea20011

  • Australia participated in all tournaments as an OFC member

FIFA Confederations Cup North/Central American Teams

CountryFIFA Confederations CupTotal
Mexico1995, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2005, 20136
United States1992, 1999, 2003, 20094

FIFA Confederations Cup South American Teams

CountryFIFA Confederations CupTotal
Brazil1997, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2009, 20137
Argentina1992, 1995, 20053
Uruguay1997, 20132

FIFA Confederations European Teams

CountryFIFA Confederations CupTotal
Germany1999, 20052
France2001, 20032
Spain2009, 20132
Italy2009, 20132
Czech Republic19971

 Learn more about the FIFA Confederations Cup!

Share With Football Fans