Club World Cup

The FIFA Club World Cup is organised every year. The 12th edition of this tournament will kick off and end in December 2015.  The upcoming 2 tournaments in 2015 and 2016 will be held in Japan, in the host cities Osaka and Yokohama. The FIFA Club World Cup is the only FIFA tournament for clubs. The best clubs of the 6 confederations such as the UEFA participate. So the club that has won the continental Champions League, or in the case of South America the Copa Libertadores which is the South American equivalent of the Champions League, will earn a place in the annual FIFA club event. The best club of the host country joins as well, making the eventual number of participants to 7.

The FIFA club World Cup was for the first time hosted in 2000 in Brazil. 8 teams participated in that time: Corinthians (Brazil), Manchester United (England). Necaxa (Mexico), Raja Casablanca (Morocco), Real Madrid (Spain), South Melbourne (Australia), Vasco da Gama (Brazil) and Al Nassr (Saudio Arabia). In that time there was the Intercontinental Cup, which was a match between the best South American (CONMEBOL) team and the best European (UEFA)  team. The winner of this Cup would earn a place in the Club World Cup as well, which was Real Madrid in this case. The winner of the Campeonato Brasileiro also participated in this tournament. This was the first and last time the winner of both the Intercontinental Cup and Campeonato Brasileiro were included. The Intercontinental Cup even ceased to exist after the 2004 edition.

Brazilian club Corinthians won this very first FIFA Club World Cup. They defeated Brazilian club Vasco da Gama in the penalty shootout. Corinthians scored 4 out of 5 penalties, and Vasco da Gama only 3 out of 5.


Brazilian club Cortinthians won the first FIFA Club World Cup and won this a record of 2 times together with Barcelona

The amount of participants went from 8 to 6 in the second Club World Cup. The 6 clubs are the best of their confederations. This amount of participants remained till the 2007 tournament, where the national league champion from the host country joined the others to increase the number of participants to 7.

After the 2000 tournament, it took 5 years before the second Club World Cup was organised. This was in 2005 in Japan. It was planned to host the Club World Cup in 2001, but this was eventually cancelled due to the collapse of then FIFA’s marketing partner International Sport and Leisure. Since 2005 the tournament is held every year.

Of the 5 confederations, only 2 have won the tournament several times: UEFA (Europe) and CONMEBOL (South America). Corinthians and Barcelona have the most wins: 2 times each. Corinthians won in 2000, 2012 and Barcelona in 2009, 2011. The current FIFA Club World Cup champions is Real Madrid from Spain. They defeated Argentine club San Lorenzo with 2-0. The current all-time top scorer is Argentinian player César Delgado who played for the Mexican club Monterrey. He scored 5 goals in total, 3 in the 2012 tournament and 2 in the 2013 tournament.

Real Madrid

Real Madrid are the current FIFA Club World Cup champions

The FIFA Club World Cup is a straight knock-out tournament. When a match ends in a draw, 30 minutes of extra time have to be played. If the score is still a draw, the penalty shootout will decide the winner. However for the matches for the 5th place and 3rd  place, no extra time is played. A penalty shootout will immediately be held to determine the winner.

club trophy

The FIFA Club World Cup trophy

The 2014 FIFA Club World Cup was hosted in Morocco. The following teams participated:

  • San Lorenzo (CONMEBOL, Argentina)
  • Real Madrid (UEFA, Spain)
  • Western Sydney Wanderers (AFC, Australia)
  • ES Sétif (CAF, Algeria)
  • Cruz Azul (CONCACAF, Mexico)
  • Auckland City (OFC, New Zealand)
  • Moghreb Tétouan (AFC, Morocco)

Find out more information about the 2014 FIFA Club World Cup!

The 2014 FIFA Club World Cup official logo

FIFA Club World Cup African Teams

CountryClubFIFA Club World CupTotal
MoroccoRaja Casablanca2000, 20132
MoroccoMoghreb Tétouan20141
TunisiaÉtoile du Sahel20071
EgyptAl-Ahly2005, 2006, 2008, 2012, 20135
DR CongoTP Mazembe2009, 20102
AlgeriaES Sétif20141

FIFA Club World Cup Oceanian Teams

CountryClubFIFA Club World CupTotal
New ZealandAuckland City2006, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 20146
New ZealandWaitakere United2007, 20082
AustraliaSouth Melbourne20001
AustraliaSydney FC20051
AustraliaAdelaide United (as AFC member)20081
Papua New GuineaHekari United20101
  • Australia participated in the first 2 Club World Cups as an OFC member

FIFA Club World Cup Asian Teams

CountryClubFIFA Club World CupTotal
JapanUrawa Red Diamonds20071
JapanGamba Osaka20081
JapanKashiwa Reysol20111
JapanSanfrecce Hiroshima20121
South KoreaJeonbuk Hyundai Motors20061
South KoreaPohang Steelers20091
South KoreaSeongnam Ilhwa Chunma20101
South KoreaUlsan Hyundai20121
AustraliaSouth Melbourne (as OFC member)20001
AustraliaSydney FC (as OFC member)20051
AustraliaAdelaide United20081
AustraliaWestern Sydney Wanderers20141
Saudi ArabiaAl-Nassr20001
Saudi ArabiaAl-Ittihad20051
United Arab EmiratesAl-Ahli20091
United Arab EmiratesAl-Wahda20101
ChinaGuangzhou Evergrande20131
  • Since the 3rd Club World Cup Australia participates as an AFC member

FIFA Club World Cup North/Central American Teams

CountryClubFIFA Club World CupTotal
MexicoPachuca2007, 2008, 20103
MexicoMonterrey2011, 2012, 20133
MexicoClub América20061
MexicoCruz Azul20141
Costa RicaDeportivo Saprissa20051

FIFA Club World Cup South American Teams

CountryClubFIFA Club World CupTotal
BrazilCorinthians2000, 20122
BrazilInternacional2006, 20102
BrazilVasco da Gama20001
BrazilSão Paulo20051
BrazilAtlético Mineiro20131
ArgentinaBoca Juniors20071
ArgentinaSan Lorenzo20141
EcuadorLDU Quito20081

FIFA Club World Cup European Teams

CountryClubFIFA Club World CupTotal
EnglandManchester United2000, 20082
SpainBarcelona2006, 2009, 20113
SpainReal Madrid2000, 20142
GermanyBayern Munich20131

 Learn more about the FIFA Club World Cup!

Share With Football Fans