2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup Qualification Stage

The qualification stage of each tournament is not only unique, it also knows (minor) changes for the next tournament. It seems like the qualification stage is always evolving, figuring out which system is the best and perhaps an honest one at the same time. For the CONCACAF Gold Cup the qualification stage wasn’t a complex one like many qualification stages sometimes are for certain big tournaments (like the FIFA World Cup).

To start off simple: of the 12 teams that participate in the CONCACAF Gold Cup, the North American zone qualified automatically: USA, Mexico and Canada. These North American Football Union (NAFU) members always qualify automatically for a CONCACAF Gold Cup. Another reason is that USA and Canada co-host the tournament, hosts always qualify immediately.

9 spots were left for teams to occupy, which had to be resolved in 2 tournaments: the 2014 Copa Centroamerica and the 2014 Caribbean Cup. The 4 best teams of each tournament would qualify for the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup. The number 5 of both tournaments had to play a play-off against each other for the last ticket of the tournament.

2014 Copa Centroamericana – CONCACAF Gold Cup Qualifications

To start of with the 2014 Copa Centroamerica which is played by the Central American Zone. The tournament started on September 3 and ended 10 days later on September 13. The Central American Football Union (UNCAF) consists of 7 teams which all participated in the Copa Centroamerica.

Group Stage A
el salvadorEl Salvador32014226
Group Stage B
costa ricaCosta Rica21105234
5th Place Match
3rd Place Match
el salvadorEl Salvador0-1Panamapanama
guatemalaGuatemala1-2Costa Ricacosta rica

The top 4 teams qualified for the big CONCACAF tournament:

  1. Costa Rica
  2. Guatemala
  3. Panama
  4. El Salvador

Number 5 Honduras had to earn a CONCACAF Gold Cup ticket by defeating number 5 team of the 2014 Caribbean Cup: French Guiana.

2014 Caribbean Cup – CONCACAF Gold Cup Qualifications

The Carribean Cup is organised for the Carribean zone and was played between 11 and 18 November. However, the Carribean Football Union (CFU) has 31 members and not all of them could participate in the Caribbean Cup. There was only room for 8 teams. Of the 31 members, only 26 entered the qualification rounds for the Caribbean Cup. Bahamas, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Saint-Martin, and Sint Maarten did not enter.

The following 8  teams made it to the Caribbean Cup:

  1. Jamaica
  2. Cuba
  3. Trinidad and Tobago
  4. Antigua and Barbuda
  5. Haiti
  6. French Guiana
  7. Martinique
  8. Curaçao
Group Stage A
trinidad and tobagoTrinidad and Tobago32107437
french guianaFrench Guiana31117614
Group Stage B
Antigua and BarbudaAntigua and Barbuda301227-51
3rd Place Match
trinidad and tobagoTrinidad and Tobago0-0 (3-4)Jamaicajamaica

The top 4 teams qualified for the CONCACAF Gold Cup:

  1. Jamaica
  2. Trinidad and Tobago
  3. Haiti
  4. Cuba

Number 5 French Guiana had to earn a CONCACAF Gold Cup ticket by defeating number 5 team of the 2014 Copa Centroamerica: Honduras.

Play-Off Number 5 Copa Centroamerica – Caribbean Cup – CONCACAF Gold Cup Qualifications

Honduras that participated in the 2014 World Cup, ended up on the fifth position of the Copa Centroamerica and French Guiana on the fifth position of the Caribbean Cup. Both teams had to play a play-off consisting of 2 legs (matches). The winner would occupy the last open spot of the CONCACAF Gold Cup. The first leg was played on Wednesday March 25 and the second leg on Sunday March 29. Although Honduras lost the first match, they advance due to a positive aggregate result.

 Country 11st legagg.2nd legCountry 2 
hondurasHonduras1-34-33-0French Guianafrench guiana

2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup Groups

Each team has played in a CONCACAF Gold Cup before. The 12 qualified teams for the CONCACAF Gold Cup that kicks-off on July 7 2015, are divided in the following groups:

Group AGroup BGroup C
USACosta RicaMexico
PanamaEl SalvadorGuatemala
HaitiJamaicaTrinidad and Tobago

Share With Football Fans